Mehergarh Awards 2014

Annual Day for Working Women was celebrated on 22 December 2014. Like preceding years, Mehergarh organized a mega event at PNCA Auditorium Islamabad. The event started with the Working Women Assembly which provided a workable forum to the working women from across the length and breadth of Pakistan to share their views, work experiences and fears. The hall mark of the event was presentation of “Mehergarh Awards for Leaders of Change” to leading organizations that adopted the “Protection Against Harassment of Women at Workplace, Act 2010” and undertook concrete steps to make their organizations gender friendly.  These organizations include TPL Holdings, Engro Corporation limited, Attock Refinery limited, LASOONA Society for Human and Natural Resource Development and Pakistan Air Force. In addition few individuals were also presents were also honoured who worked relentlessly for implementation of the Act in their own spheres to make the environment gender friendly. These include Bushra Khaliq (Executive Director of Women in Struggle For Empowerment), who was presented with “Mehergarh Award for Leaders of Change”, Bushra Arain (Chairperson of Women Health Workers Association) and Mr. Masood Raza (Pakistan Bank’s Association) who both were presented with “Mehergarh’s AASHA Award of Excellence”. The ceremony was concluded with singing of regional and national songs, which was whole heartedly participated by the audience.

Bushra Khaliq receiving Mehergarh's AASHA Award of Excellence from Senator Ramesh Kumar from PML N Audience1 Audience2 Dr Fouzia Saeed and Tauseeq Haider hosting the Working Women's Day Celebrations Dr Nafeesa Shah MNA PPP presenting Mehergarh Award to Bushra Arain from Women Health Workers Association Senator Tahir Hussain Mushhadi presenting Mehergarh Award for Leaders of Change to Qasim Abbas and Hafsa Abbasi for Standard Chartered Bank Sitara Ayaz Former Provincial Minister ANP presenting Mehergarh Award to a representative from Engro Corporation Sitara Ayaz Former Provincial Minister ANP presenting Mehergarh Award to Azam Khan and Mehnaz Fakhir from LASOONA Wing Commander Dr. Muniza Rizwan receiving Mehergarh Award for Leaders of Change on behalf of Pakistan Air Force Zafarullah Khan from World Movement from Democracy presenting Mehergarh Award to Naila Qasim from TPL Holdings